Black People : The Stolen Legacy Audiobook: Forward

Vizual

Registered
Nov 22, 2007
For the past 20 years I have been a student of Black Studies, especially in the area of history and religion. I have read over two hundred or so books on the subject and have heard countless lectures. But none can ever really take the place of that first book. The first book that shined light into the darkness of my ignorance. For me, that book was The Stolen Legacy by Dr. George GM James.

A friend of mine allowed me to borrow and read the book back in the early 90’s during the time of a rebirth in Black Consciousness. Public Enemy, the teachings of the Nation of Islam, leather medallions with the symbol of Africa on them and being seen with a Black history book was the trend in the African American community. Not wanting to be left out, I asked for one of the many he had on his shelf. He suggested I start with the Stolen Legacy. I asked him why THAT book and he said that, “When you don’t know anything, any place is a good place to start.” So I started…and I became hooked on the books implication that all that I had THOUGHT to have been created by Europeans in the way of mathematics, the arts and sciences, civics, theology and more were actually created by Black Africans!