if i start a reply and then go someplace else.
that reply will still be there if i ever come back to that thread.
Okay, thank you again Brother @jamesfrmphilly
The draft feature automatically saves a post being composed, every 60 seconds, maintaining it for 24 hours. This will save one's work, should they get unexpectedly disconnected, etc.
You can delete or save a draft by clicking the icon and option shown here :
Please give the above a try and let me know if the issue persists or you have more questions.